Jewish Holidays

The Jewish Sabbath begins every Friday at sunset and ends Saturday at nightfall.
It is a day of prayer and study and no work, writing, commerce, or travel is permitted.

Click here for Candle-lighting times

All Jewish Holy Days and Festivals begin at sundown the evening before the date shown and conclude at nightfall of the last day. Fast Days may be from sunset to sunset or sunrise to sunset.

2017
Sunday January 8
ASARAH B’TEVET – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Saturday, February 11
TU B’SHEVAT – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Thursday, March 9
TA’ANIT ESTHER – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Sunday, March 12
PURIM – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Tuesday, April 11 – Wednesday April 12
PASSOVER 1st & 2nd days – Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted. Dietary restrictions apply for the duration of the 8 day holiday, including those days which are not designated as holy days.

Monday, April 17 – Tuesday, April 18
PASSOVER 7th & 8th days – Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted. Dietary restrictions apply.

Sunday, May 14
LAG B’OMER – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Tuesday, May 31 – Wednesday, June 1
SHAVUOTHoly Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Tuesday, July 11
SHIVA ASAR B’TAMMUZ – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday. Begins the 3 weeks of mourning for the destruction of the Temple in Jerusalem.

Tuesday, August 1
TISHA B’AV – Fast from sundown on Saturday to nightfall on Sunday. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Thursday, September 21 – Friday, September 22
ROSH HASHANAHHigh Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted. Begins the 10 days of repentance.

Sunday, September 24
TZOM GEDALIA – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Saturday, September 30
YOM KIPPURHigh Holy Day – The holiest day of the Jewish calendar. Fast day and continuous prayer throughout the day. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Thursday, October 5 – Friday, October 6
SUKKOTHoly Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Wednesday, October 11
HOSHANA RABAH – Prayer and feasting. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Thursday, October 12
SHMINI ATZERETHoly Day. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Friday, October 13
SIMCHAT TORAHHoly Day. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

The Sabbath and some holy days require preparation before sundown and some observances at the end of the day.
When planning events before or after these days, consideration should be given to those requirements and for allowing time for people to travel to and from their homes.

Click here for a calendar through 2021