Judicial Evaluation

Justice, justice you shall pursue…
(Deut. 16:20)

In order to do this, the workings of the Judicial Evaluation Committee must not only be fair and impartial, they must be seen to be so, both substantively and procedurally. The evaluations and ratings are done by a separate Decalogue Committee (the JEC) that does not report to or need the concurrence of any Officer or Board Member. Decalogue believes that this ensures the independence of the JEC and the fairness of the ratings. The JEC is composed of DSL members in good standing who have committed to or participated in at least one Alliance interview session per year. All Alliance and DSL JEC proceedings are strictly confidential.

All communications regarding a rating, or our process, should be directed to the JEC co-chairs; any violation may affect the rating negatively.

The JEC, a member of the Alliance of Bar Associations for Judicial Screening, strives to avoid consideration of politics, gender, ethnicity, race, religion, socio-economic status, or sexual orientation in its evaluations and ratings.

Download the JEC evaluation criteria here.

To view the ratings from our partners in the Alliance of Bar Associations for Judicial Screening, click here

Decalogue Ratings for the November 6, 2018 General Election


(Vacancy of the Hon. Eileen Mary Brewer)
Kathryn Maloney Vahey Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Evelyn B. Clay)
Kathleen Theresa Lanahan Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Deborah M. Dooling)
Tom Sam Sianis Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Laurence J. Dunford)
Thomas F. McGuire Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Lynn M. Egan)
Rosa Maria Silva Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Thomas E. Flanagan)
Preston Jones, Jr. Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Russell W. Hartigan)
Cecilia Anne Horan Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Michelle D. Jordan)
Clare Quish Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Sheila McGinnis)
Peter Michael Gonzalez Recommended

(Vacancy of the Hon. Jean Prendergast Rooney)
Jack Hagerty Recommended


1st Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Orville E. Hambright, Jr.)
Erika Orr Recommended

2nd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Bertina E. Lampkin)
Tiana Ellis Blakely Recommended

2nd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Marjorie C. Laws)
Adrienne Elaine Davis Recommended

2nd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. James L. Rhodes)
Toya T. Harvey Recommended

2nd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. John D. Turner, Jr.)
Ieshia Gray Recommended

2nd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Valerie Turner)
Arthur Wesley Willis Recommended

 2nd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Camille E. Willis)
Debra A. Seaton Highly Recommended

3rd Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Maureen F. Delehanty)
Kevin Patrick Cunningham Recommended

4th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Thomas M. Davy)
David R. Navarro Highly Recommended

4th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. James G. Riley)
Elizabeth Ciaccia-Lezza Recommended

5th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Patricia Banks)
Yvonne Coleman Recommended

5th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Rickey Jones)
Marian Emily Perkins Recommended

5th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Edward Washington, II)
Robert Harris Recommended

6th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Gloria Chevere)
Kent Delgado Highly Recommended

6th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Richard C. Cooke)
Andrea Michelle Webber Recommended

6th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Robert Lopez Cepero)
Linda Perez Recommended

8th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Candace J. Fabri)
James “Jamie” Shapiro Recommended

8th Sub- Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Laura C. Liu)
Lindsay Huge Highly Recommended

8th Sub- Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Sheryl A. Pethers)
Jeanne Marie Wrenn Recommended

10th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Eileen O’Neill Burke)
Stephanie Saltouros Recommended

10th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Donald J. Suriano)
Colleen Reardon Daly Recommended

11th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Kathleen G. Kennedy)
Joanne F. Rosado Recommended

12th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. William O. Maki)
Joel Chupack Recommended
David Studenroth Highly Recommended

13th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Clayton J. Crane)
Ketki “Kay” Steffen Highly Recommended
Gary William Seyring Recommended

13th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Jeffrey Lawrence)
Shannon P. O’Malley Not Recommended
Daniel Patrick Fitzgerald Recommended

13th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Ann O’Donnell)
Samuel J. Betar II Recommended
Christine Svenson Recommended

14th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Rodolfo Garcia)
Beatriz A. Frausto-Sandoval Not Recommended

15th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. George Scully, Jr.)
Michael B. Barrett Recommended

15th Sub-Circuit
(Vacancy of the Hon. Frank G. Zelezinski)
Scott McKenna Recommended
Karla Marie Fiaoni Not Recommended

(candidates are listed in ballot order)

Illinois Supreme Court -1st District
Anne M. Burke – 


Illinois Appellate Court -1st District
Margaret Stanton McBride – 


Cook County Circuit Court

Kathy M. Flanagan – YES

Moshe Jacobius – YES

Stuart F. Lubin – YES

Martin S. Agran – YES

Ronald F. Bartkowicz – YES

Kenneth Wright, Jr. – YES

Catherine Marie Haberkorn – YES

James M. Varga – YES

Marcia Maras – YES

Peter Flynn – YES

Paul A. Karkula – YES

Maura Slattery Boyle – YES

Mary Margaret Brosnahan – YES

Matthew E. Coghlan – NO

Joyce Marie Murphy-Gorman – YES

Joan Margaret O’Brien – YES

Thomas David Roti – YES

Colleen F. Sheehan – YES

Carl Anthony Walker – YES

Daniel Patrick Brennan – YES

Grace G. Dickler – YES

Ellen L. Flannigan – YES

Carol M. Howard – YES

Jill C. Marisie – YES

James Michael McGing – YES

Mike McHale – YES

James Patrick Murphy – YES

Thomas W. Murphy – YES

Ramon Ocasio III – YES

Mary Colleen Roberts – YES

Diane M. Shelley – YES

Celia Louise Gamrath – YES

Lorna Ellen Propes – YES

Tommy Brewer – YES

Thomas R. Allen – YES

Erica L. Reddick – YES

Aicha Marie MacCarthy – YES

Michael R. Clancy – YES

Regina Ann Scannicchio – YES

Diann Karen Marsalek – YES

Pamela M. Leeming – YES

Larry G. Axelrood – YES

Carl B. Boyd – YES

Daniel R. Degnan – YES

John H. Ehrlich – YES

Terry Gallagher – YES

William G. Gamboney – YES

Elizabeth Mary Hayes – YES

Martin C. Kelley – YES

Kimberly D. Lewis – YES

Edward M. Maloney – YES

Lisa Ann Marino – YES

Michael Tully Mullen – YES

Karen Lynn O’Malley – YES

Paul V. Pavlus – YES

Cynthia Ramirez – YES

Beatriz Santiago – YES